South West finalists named for the 2021 Great British Entrepreneur Awards

By Nick Batten on 6 July, 2021

Founders, innovators and entrepreneurs from across the South West have been recognised as the best in the business as the Great British Entrepreneur Awards 2021 finalists are announced.

Despite a year of disruption, 118 South West-based business leaders have been shortlisted out of 4,800 entrants nationally – the most the awards has ever had.

The Great British Entrepreneur Awards, in partnership with Starling Bank, acknowledges and champions the hard work and inspiring stories of entrepreneurs and businesses across the UK.

Over the last decade, it has celebrated some household names including Julie Deane OBE of Cambridge Satchel Co, Alan and Juliet Barratt of Grenade and Shaun Pulfrey of Tangle Teezer. Its most recent headline-grabbing success story is its previous winner Steven Bartlett, who in May was announced as the youngest ever Dragon on BBC’s Dragons Den.

The Regional Finals will take place later this year, as the organisers monitor government restrictions on events in each area.

Founder of the Great British Entrepreneur Awards, Francesca James, remarked that the quality of this year’s entrants exemplified the strength of entrepreneurship in the region. She said, “The South West has produced some incredible finalists over the years, and this year is no exception. It really is one of the UK’s most promising regions, and the fact that so many exceptional people have applied during such a tough year, is a testament to the resolve and talent that exists across the area.

“As well as the recognition, our finalists and eventual winners will join our fantastic alumni community that supports each other all year round. From networking and thought leadership, right the way through to mentoring and guidance – being a part of our ecosystem of entrepreneurs can be incredibly rewarding.

“Creating the shortlist out of so many wonderful applications was incredibly tough, so I don’t envy the judges who will now decide the regional winners. Everyone who has been shortlisted should be incredibly proud and we’re thrilled to be able to showcase their achievements.”

To attend or watch the finals or learn more about the awards, you can go to 

The South West 2021 finalists are:

Creative Industries Entrepreneur of the Year 

  • Jonny Williams – BoomBocs
  • Danny Matthews – Danny&Co
  • Stephanie Carswell – Hawthorn Handmade
  • Katherine George – Oh So Social
  • Anita Perry – Sugar + Sloth
  • Harry Cobbold – Unfold

Disruptor of the Year

  • Raman Mistry & Dominic O’Neill – Cotham Technologies Ltd
  • Richard Joyce, Tom Kelly, Ryan Hill & Jack Madley – EVONA
  • Cas Paton –
  • Sholto Moger & John Court – Searchlight Terrier Ltd
  • Charles Taylor, Johann Farhan, Joe Galliford – Sina Medical Technology
  • Electra Coutsoftides – Xworks

Entrepreneur for Good Award

  • Joshua Stunell – bthechange CIC
  • Katie Sherjan – Holywell Housing Trust
  • Mark Escott – Life Chance
  • Alice Cracknell & Thomas Cracknell – Origin
  • Jen Baughan – Solutions for the Planet
  • Matt Findel-Hawkins – Thank and Praise

Entrepreneurial Spirit Award in partnership with Glen Scotia

  • Joanna Cooke-Best – Cooke’s Free From
  • Craig Haslam – D3A Defence
  • Steve Witt & Paul Harrison – Not Just TravelX
  • Oddny Edwards – Oskuhus
  • Teresa Swinton – Paradigm Human Performance
  • Charles de Paula – SEIKK

Family Business Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Annie McWilliam & Tony McWilliam – Colt + Willow
  • Lindsay Berresford & David Ffrench – Quirky Campers
  • Hollie Power & Ryan Power – Salonology
  • Olly Kohn, Max Kohn & Josh Kohn – The Jolly Hog
  • Andy Turner – V12 Footwear
  • Ollie Brittan & Toby Brittan – Whites Beaconsfield

Fashion & Beauty Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Amanda Marshall – 3 Donkeys Clothing
  • Jezz Skelton – Abbott Lyon
  • Oliver Massy-Birch – Fortis Clothing
  • Hannah Lovegrove & Hayley de Beers – Lovegrove Essentials
  • Olli Smith – Solus
  • Catherine Orpin & James U’Dell – Touch of Tweed

Food & Drink Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Bay Burdett – Bay’s Kitchen
  • Jim Walker & Alexander Secken – Black Insomnia Coffee
  • Cathy Moseley – Boundless Activated Snacking
  • Ellie Webb – Caleno drinks
  • Mike Duckworth – Nutcessity
  • Paul Hayes – VIVIR Drinks

Health & Wellbeing Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Benjamin Draper & William Testeil – Famli
  • Katie Brindle – Hayo’u
  • James Markey – Nutrition X
  • Simon Scott-Nelson & Sadie Restorick – Wellity

Made in the UK Award in partnership with Make It British

  • Amelia Gammon – bide
  • Ellen Green – Blue Badge
  • Emily Rollings & Daniel Rollings – Emily Rollings Ltd
  • Shane Darwin – Mucky Nutz
  • Colin Spencer Halsey & Graham Higgins – Natural Fibre Company
  • Harry Solomon – Wombat Cricket

Pivot Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Alison Hargreaves – Guides for Brides
  • Ozi Maden – Ozi Lala Levantine Street Food
  • Fiona Pullen – Sewing Directory
  • Gill Smith – The Business Kitchen

Scale-Up Entrepreneur of the Year in partnership with Salesforce

  • James Hadley – Immersive Labs
  • Cas Paton –
  • Dan McIvor & Matt Giles – Swanky

Services Industries Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Lucy Corner – Cornerstone Care Solutions
  • Samantha Charles – Float Digital
  • Rebecca Wilson – Friends4Pets
  • Natalie Sherman – Naturally Social
  • Ross McCaw – Our People
  • Sarah Travell – Virgate

Small Business Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Nick & Jo James – Bedfolk
  • Emma Willis MBE – Emma Willis Ltd
  • Kirsty Passmore – Rock Pool Life CIC
  • James Mikkelson – Shiptheory
  • Michelle L Huillier – Tom & Teddy Limited
  • Caroline Sparks & Gabrielle Lixton – Turtle Tots

Start-Up Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Safak Erkol & Aydin Gunal – Fastbag
  • Hemali Modha & Catrin MacDonnell – Jones + Modha
  • Fern McCoy – Mockingbird Spirit
  • Tze Ching Yeung – Refashion My Town
  • Matt Dyson & Nick Webb – Rockit
  • Hary Caldicott – VetScript Technologies

Sustainability Entrepreneur of the Year in partnership with Funding Options

  • Howard Gunstock & Dave Walker-Nix – Carbon Kapture
  • Luke Declan McFadden – CGS Contractors and Celtic Turf
  • Emma Askew – Earth Minutes
  • Dan Yates & Mehrnaz Tajmir – Greener
  • Charlie Guy – LettUs Grow
  • Tom Carr & Richard Pearce – Verto Homes

Young Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Keely Cat-Wells – C Talent
  • Jemima Ellis – ELAN Lingerie
  • Millie Flemington-Clare – Human Beauty
  • Jessica Ross – Jessica Ross
  • Ronan Finnegan & Harry Kimberley Bowen – SpaceBands
  • Laura Scott – The Conscious Candy Company

Pictured above: Host Wynne Evans with Founder of the Great British Entrepreneur Awards, Francesca James at a previous awards ceremony