Great British Expos new South West business awards

By Nick Batten on 28 September, 2017

The corporate event organiser, Great British Expos, is to launch the South West Business and Community Awards in January 2018 to recognise businesses, charities, and individuals that have made an ‘outstanding contribution’ in the region.

Great British Expos claims it has helped over 10,000 UK SMEs and “gained the respect of the industry” since its launch in 2012. So far, there are now 60 plus confirmed nominations and judging the nominations will be an independent panel made up of “some of the UK’s biggest business leaders, entrepreneurs, charity ambassadors and regional influencers and figures.”

The award categories are, Business of the Year, Charity of the Year, SME of the Year, New Start-up of the Year, Apprentice of the Year, Female Entrepreneur of the Year, Male Entrepreneur of the Year, Young Entrepreneur of the Year, Lifetime of Achievement Award, Leisure & Tourism Award, Contribution to the Community, Networker of the year, Achievement in the Community and finally the Courage Award.

Alec Jones Hall, director of Great British Expos said: “South West Business Awards are in true recognition of excellence and achievement. When you work and contribute to business or charity we believe you should be applauded and recognised, hard work takes commitment and the candidates nominated and awarded have done just that. They have worked hard to achieve their best.”

Alec added, “Great British Expos wants businesses in the South West to help in identifying those businesses, charities, and individuals within their business or the region that have made an exceptional contribution over the past 12 months and could potentially be nominated for these awards. You are the ones on the ground and see the achievement as it is happening.”

Anyone can submit nominations online and entrants can either be nominated or self-nominate. To submit a nomination go to The winners will be announced at a dinner awards evening ceremony at Lydiard Fields, Swindon on January 18 2018.

The closing date for nominations is the December 30 2017.