From AM to PM with Michelle Donelan MP

By Anita Jaynes on 8 March, 2016

A one day working diary, from rise and shine to lights out.

Every Tuesday we delve into the day-to-day diary of a member of the local business community.  This week as we celebrate International Women’s Day we put the spotlight on Michelle Donelan MP for Bradford on Avon, Chippenham, Corsham, Melksham and surrounding villages.

What time does your alarm go off?

My alarm is set for 06:30am so I can attend breakfast meetings or read briefing documents before debates in the Chamber or Westminster Hall.

What’s the first thing you do?

I check my emails for any urgent work.

What do you do for lunch?

Often, I take a working lunch where I use the time to meet with representatives from charities or businesses. On Tuesday or Wednesday I like to try and reserve half an hour for the lunchtime chapel service in Parliament.

What do you love most about your job?

It is a huge honour to represent my constituency and play my part to make a difference to our local area. The ability to have been able to help secure changes such as Fairer Funding for schools in Wiltshire due to scores of meetings, petitions, articles and lobbying is one of the best parts of being an MP.

What’s the worst part of the job?

The seven day week can get tiring as at the weekends I visit businesses in the constituency or hold local surgeries. This means that I don’t have much time to see my friends or family.

What executive tool/ gadget could you not live without?

My mobile is extremely important for me to be able to reply to emails on the move.

What do you do after work?

I will often use dinner as a chance to meet with other MPs, go to receptions on issues that are important to my constituents or attend receptions in embassies that enable me to keep abreast of international affairs.

If you changed direction, what would be your Plan B?

Being an MP is my life’s ambition so I could have no Plan B.

To find out more about Michelle and keep up to date with her news and blog visit: www.michelledonelan.co.uk